Readers & Writers
Publisher Resources
2017 Firecracker Finalists Announced!

The CLMP Firecracker Awards judges have narrowed down hundreds of manuscripts submitted for consideration in the 2017 CLMP Firecracker Awards to three short lists of ten books each in FictionCreative Non-Fiction, and Poetry. Winners in these three categories, along with awardees for Best Debut and General Excellence in our Magazines category, will be revealed at the Firecracker Awards Ceremony in June.

Crowd awaits announcement of the 2016 winners.

Join us as Laura Swearingen-Steadwell MCs a night of celebration and revelry, to take place on Tuesday June 6 at 6 PM at Poets House. In addition to announcing the Firecracker winners, we will also award the first annual Lord Nose Award, given in memory of Jonathan Williams, publisher of the legendary independent literary press, The Jargon Society. Williams published a great number of exceptional small press books focused on the American avant-garde, including seminal works by Olson, Zukoskfy and Broughton. This year’s inaugural award will go to Bruce McPherson of McPherson & Co., an independent literary publisher very much embodying the spirit of Williams and the Jargon Society.

All subscribers to Fresh Pressed, CLMP’s monthly independent literary publishing e-newsletter, will receive invitations soon. If you are not yet a subscriber, please email Natalie Mesnard (nmesnard@clmp.org) to join our mailing list and be invited.

Laura Swearingen-Steadwell.

2017 Finalists

Judges: Jarrod Annis (Greenlight Books), Paul Lisicky (The Narrow Door, Graywolf Press), and Pia Padukone (Where Earth Meets Water, MIRA)

Creative Nonfiction
Judges: Michele Filgate (LitHub Contributing Editor), Alexandra Kleeman (Intimations, Harper), and Alison Gore (Word Bookstores)
Judges: Camille Drummond (Word Bookstores) and Patricia Spears Jones (A Lucent Fire: New and Selected, Buffalo), with the assistance of Anne Boyer (Garments Against Women, Ahsata)


Judges: Maribeth Batcha (One Story), Ellen Duffer (Ploughshares), Brigid Hughes (A Public Space), Minna Proctor (The Literary Review)

  • Come to the Firecracker Awards Ceremony in June to learn which literary magazines win for General Excellence and Best Debut!

The CLMP Firecracker Awards recognize phenomenal works from independent literary publishers and self-published authors. With the help of the American Booksellers Association, the winning books and magazines will be featured at indie bookstores across the country. Thomson Shore has generously provided printing of 2017 bookmarks and award seals.

The 2017 Firecracker Award Winners

Read the best of the small press

Periodically Speaking: Immigrant Voices

at the NYPL, June 13, 2017

Poets Read Fiction

April 4, 2017 at Berl's

CLMP Supports Free Speech

We condemn delegitimizing media

Writing & Publishing the Disabled Voice

at the NYPL, March 21 2017

We would like to collect information during your site visit to help us better understand site use. This data is anonymized, and will not be used for marketing purposes. Read More on our Privacy Policy page. You can withdraw permission at any time or update your privacy settings here. Please choose below to continue.