Readers & Writers
Publisher Resources
50th Anniversary Gala


Pierogies from Heaven: CLMP’s 50th Anniversary Gala
November 8 Wednesday 2017  |  7 – 10 PM
East Village Ukrainian Restaurant | 140 2nd Ave, New York, NY



The Golden Colophon Award for Paradigm Independent Literary Publishing

Wave Books

[ HONOREE ] Wave Books is an independent poetry press based in Seattle, Washington. Founded in 2005, Wave is dedicated to publishing exceptional contemporary poetry, poetry in translation, and writing by poets. By publishing strong, innovative work in finely crafted editions, the press aims to continue to challenge the values and practices of readers and add to the collective sense of what’s possible in contemporary poetry. Tyehimba Jess’s Olio, winner of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize, exemplifies the press’s fine list. Wave’s leadership team includes Charlie Wright, Publisher; Joshua Beckman, Editor in Chief; Heidi Broadhead, Senior Editor; and Matthew Zapruder, Editor at Large.

Tyehimba Jess

[ PRESENTER ] Tyehimba Jess is the author of two books of poems published by Wave Books: leadbelly, winner of the 2004 National Poetry Series; and Olio, winner of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, and the Midland Society Author’s Award in Poetry. Olio also received an Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Citation from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association and was a finalist for the 2016 National Books Critics Circle Award, 2017 PEN/Jean Stein Book Award, and the 2017 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award. A Cave Canem fellow, Tyehimba’s honors include a Lannan Literary Award in Poetry, a Whiting Writers’ Award, and a Literature Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. He is Associate Professor of English at College of Staten Island and the Poetry and Fiction Editor of the African American Review.

Energizer Award for Exceptional Acts of Literary Citizenship

Rob Spillman

[ HONOREE ] Rob Spillman is Editor and co-founder of Tin House, an eighteen-year-old bi-coastal literary magazine. Tin House received CLMP’s 2015 Firecracker Award for General Excellence and has been honored in Best American Stories, Best American Essays, Best American Poetry, O’Henry Prize Stories, the Pushcart Prize Anthology, and numerous other anthologies. The 2015 recipient of the PEN/Nora Magid Award for Editing and the 2015 VIDO Award from VIDA, Rob also is the Executive Editor of Tin House Books and co-founder of the Tin House Summer Workshop, now in its fourteenth year. He served as Chair of the 2017 PEN World Voices Curatorial Committee, is an Advisor of Narrative 4, and serves on the Brooklyn Book Festival’s Literary Council. Rob’s writing has appeared in BookForum, Boston Review, Guernica, Nerve, The New York Times Book Review, Rolling Stone, Salon, Time, Vanity Fair, and elsewhere. The editor of Gods and Soldiers: The Penguin Anthology of Contemporary African Writing (2009), he is a lecturer at Columbia University and has guest taught at universities around the world, including Queensland University in Brisbane; the Farafina Workshop in Lagos, Nigeria; the SLS Workshops in St. Petersburg, Russia, and Nairobi, Kenya; and the Catholic University of Santiago, Chile. His memoir, All Tomorrow’s Parties, was published by Grove Press in 2016.

Lisa Lucas

[ PRESENTER ] Lisa Lucas is Executive Director of the National Book Foundation. Previously, she served as the Publisher of Guernica, a nonprofit online magazine focusing on writing that explores the intersection of art and politics with an international and diverse focus. Prior to that, she served as Director of Education at the Tribeca Film Institute; on the development team at Steppenwolf Theatre Company; and as a consultant for the Sundance Institute, San Francisco Film Society, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, and ReelWorks Teen Filmmaking. Lisa also serves on the Literary Council of the Brooklyn Book Festival.



Special welcome from Honorary Co-Chairs

Russell Banks

Russell Banks is the author of a dozen novels and short story collections that have earned him the American Book Award, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, the John Dos Passos Award, the Ingram Merrill Award, the Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and the 2011 Common Wealth Award for Literature. His works of fiction include Cloudsplitter, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; Rule of the Bone; Continental Drift; Searching for Survivors; A Permanent Member of the Family; and Lost Memory of Skin. His novels Affliction and The Sweet Hereafter were adapted into critically acclaimed feature films. A co-founder of the publishing house Lillabulero and founder and President of Cities of Refuge North America, he was New York State Author, 2004–2008; and in 2011, was awarded the the rank of Officier des Arts et Lettres from the French Minister of Culture.

Chase Twichell

Chase Twichell’s seven books of poems include Horses Where the Answers Should Have Been: New and Selected Poems, recipient of the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, and Dog Language, both published by Copper Canyon Press. Her work has received awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters. The founder of Ausable Press in 1999, Chase has taught at Princeton University, Goddard College, Warren Wilson College, the University of Alabama, and Hampshire College.

50th Anniversary All-Star Knock-Down Spelling Round


[ JUDGE ] Jesse Sheidlower | [ MC ] Ben Greenman
Jonathan Burnham | Tracie Morris
Mary Norris | Meg Wolitzer | and others


Gala Committee

Honorary Co-Chairs
Chase Twichell & Russell Banks

Committee Chair
Nicole Dewey

Jarrod Annis
Kathryn Court
Jon Fine
Matty Goldberg
Judy Hottensen
Gerald Howard
Justin Jamail
Beena Kamlani
Jessica Francis Kane
Clarence Reynolds
Michael Reynolds
James Sherry
Ira Silverberg
David Wilk
Renée Zuckerbrot

Courtney Hodell
Brigid Hughes

Gala Sponsors

Wave Books
Whiting Foundation

Ingram Content Group

J P Fletcher Foundation
Grove Atlantic
Justin Jamail
Jane Rotrosen Agency

Tomer Inbar

Cindy Abramson
Jeanmarie E. Kricher

Four Way Books
Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz PC
Graywolf Press
Indolent Books
Marsh Hawk Press
The NYU Creative Writing Program

Fredric Price/Fig Tree Books, LLC
Halter Ranch