Lynx House Press

Type Of Organization
Mission Statement / Editorial Focus
Lynx House Press Mission Statement: Since its inception in 1975, Lynx House has sought always to publish work of outstanding verbal intensity, aesthetic merit, and social engagement and, as a result, has gathered the work of authors from a wide distribution of national and ethnic backgrounds, including Finnish, Italian, Hispanic, Native American, African, Irish, Turkish, Chinese, Estonian, Romanian, Polish and Canadian. This diversity has had an effect on our list’s range of tonalities, subject matter and scope and has helped distinguish Lynx House Press publications from those of many other literary publishers. The press seeks also to maintain in all its publications the highest design and production standards and to seek always the widest possible distribution of these publications. These efforts are in the service of our authors, whose success and continued productivity is of vital importance to us, and of the continued centrality and vitality of the broader cultural conversation. The history of Lynx House Press: Lynx House has published more than 200 poetry, fiction, and literary nonfiction titles: 172 poetry collections, 19 volumes of fiction, and nine nonfiction titles. Poets have included Yusef Komunyakaa, Patricia Goedicke, Albert Goldbarth, Gillian Conoley, Vern Rutsala, Bill Tremblay, Margaret Robison, Carlos Reyes, Greg Pape, Christine Kitano, John Hodgen, Christopher Buckley, Madeline DeFrees, Ignacio Ruiz-Perez, Linda Gregerson, Piotr Florczyk, Tom Wayman, Nance VanWinckel and Peter Sears. Fiction writers have included Don Hendrie, Valerie Martin, John Keeble, Yesho Atil, Kevin McIlvoy, Timo Koskinen, Domenic Stansberry, Joyce Thomson, Fred Pfiel, Earl Ganz, and Robert Abel. Since 1996, LHP has sponsored the Blue Lynx Prize competition, an annual poetry manuscript contest open to all U.S. writers, or writers residing in the U.S. It has typically attracted hundreds submissions and has been awarded to firmly established poets like Jim Daniels, Carolyne Wright, Ralph Burns, and Robert Gregory, and to first book poets like Lisa Beskin, Prartho Sereno, and Dave Nielsen. Books in this series have been widely reviewed. With publication of Nance VanWinckel’s The Many Beds of Martha Washington, Lynx House becomes principal publisher for the Pacific Northwest Poetry Series, initiated in 2001 by the University Washington Press under the series editorship of MacArthur Award winning poet Linda Bierds. The VanWinckel book is the twenty-second volume in a series that also includes books by John Haines, David Beispeil, Katrina Roberts, Christianne Balk, and Melissa Kwasny: poets from Alaska, Oregon, Washington, and Montana. We plan to make the appearance of each annual Pacific NW Poetry Series title a major regional event, with public appearances by the poet at libraries, community centers, high schools, colleges and other venues. So that you know who we are, a few words about the press and its founders may be helpful. Lynx House Press was established in Amherst, Massachusetts, in 1975, by Christopher Howell, David Lyon, Robert Abel, and Helena Minton, all of whom were at the time graduate students at the University of Massachusetts. We did our own typesetting and design, our own shipping and warehousing, our own marketing and distribution. From the beginning, and still today, there are no paid employees. Work on the press is a commitment to the literary culture and to the ongoing book to book conversation that is its lifeblood. Lynx House writers have been recipients of many awards, including the Kingsley Tufts Award, the San Francisco Book Award, the Pulitzer Prize, the American Book Award, the Orange Prize, numerous Guggenheim and National Endowment fellowships, the National Book Critics Circle Award, The Milt Kessler Award, the Oregon Book Award, the Donald Hall Award (AWP), the AWP nonfiction Award, the Washington State Book Award, the Prairie Schooner Fiction Prize, the Nebraska Book Award, the Great Lakes Award, the Balcones Prize, The Chad Walsh Prize, the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the Kafka Prize, the Idaho Prize, The Levinson Prize, The Mark Twain Award, the Bluestem Award, the Glascock Award, Massachusetts Book Award, the Editor’s Prize (from Pushcart Press), the Foley Poetry Prize, the Ruth Stone Poetry Prize, the Grolier Prize, and the Spokane Prize for Poetry.

Social Media Platforms Used
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram
Is Your Group Affiliated With A University, Portal Or Other Agency?
Primary Editor/Contact Person
Derek Annis
Contact Title
Associate Director/Senior Editor
Contact Email
Submissions Policy
Submissions of previously unpublished full-length poetry manuscripts are accepted annually from January 15 through June 15. We accept submissions of manuscripts by U.S. authors, which includes foreign nationals living and writing in the U.S. and U.S. citizens living abroad. We charge a $28 submission fee, and award the author of the winning manuscript $2,000 upon publication.
Accepts Unsolicited Submissions
Submission Guidelines URL
Simultaneous Submissions Accepted
Reading Period
Year round
Reporting Time
Year Founded
Number Of Books Published Per Year
3 to 10
Titles In Print
Number Of Issues Per Year
Back Issues Available
Unsolicited Manuscripts Accepted
Publish Print Anthology?