The Poetry Society of Virginia

Type Of Organization
Mission Statement / Editorial Focus
In May 1923, a small group of poets, desirous of fostering and stimulating an interest in poetry in the Commonwealth, met in the Chapel of the Wren Building at the College of William and Mary. There they drew up a constitution and bylaws for the organization and named it The Poetry Society of Virginia. They elected Dr. Charles N. Feidelson to serve as its first president. Since then, the Poetry Society of Virginia – through publications, readings by members and visiting poets, poetry events around the state, contests, workshops, in-school programs, poetry festivals, and other activities – has helped to advance the cause and appreciation of poetry throughout Virginia. Visiting poets have included Robert Frost, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Carl Sandburg, Richard Wilbur, Donald Hall, Charles Wright, and many others. Membership in the society has grown to over four hundred, with about fifteen percent from outside Virginia. The organization is instrumental in assisting the Governor of Virginia with the selection of Poet Laureate. An appointed committee makes recommendations to the organization’s elected President who then forwards nominations to the Governor for his final review and decision.

Social Media Platforms Used
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube
Is Your Group Affiliated With A University, Portal Or Other Agency?
Primary Editor/Contact Person
Pamela Brothers Denyes
Contact Title
Treasurer, Poetry Society of Virginia
Submissions Policy
Members and non-members may submit to our contests.
Accepts Unsolicited Submissions
Submission Guidelines URL
To be determined
Year Founded
Number Of Books Published Per Year
Titles In Print
Poetry Virginia