A Winning Team: The Author-Publisher Relationship

Two author-publisher teams discuss what makes their collaboration successful at this #AWP23 panel.

Event Date
Event Time
3:20 pm - 4:35 pm
Event Venue
Rooms 443-444, Summit Building, Seattle Convention Center, Level 4

AWP Logo


No book enters the world on its own. Instead, authors and publishers work together to bring out the best in what ultimately becomes the published work. Join us for a conversation with the 2022 Firecracker Award winners in poetry and creative nonfiction to learn about what goes into forging an award-winning relationship between author and publisher.

Learn more about this panel and register for AWP.


Moderator: Chelsea Oei Kern, Director of Programs at CLMP

Neelanjana Banerjee, Managing Editor, Kaya Press

Truong Tran, author, book of the other (Kaya Press), 2022 Firecracker Award winner in poetry

Stephen Motika, Director and Publisher, Nightboat Books

Allison Cobb, author, Plastic: An Autobiography (Nightboat Books), 2022 Firecracker Award winner in creative nonfiction