Readers & Writers
Publisher Resources
Search Publishers

Welcome to the CLMP Directory of independent literary publishers, a digital resource and offspring of CLMP’s former annual print directory.

Browse presses, magazines, and online publishers alphabetically using the top navigation bar. Search for a specific press by entering its name or choosing a format from the dropdown menu.


Sarabande Books, Inc.
  • Type of organization
  • Phone
    (502) 458-4028
  • Web address
  • Social media platforms used
    Facebook, Twitter, Instagram
  • Mission Statement / Editorial Focus
    Sarabande Books was founded in 1994 by Sarah Gorham and Jeffrey Skinner to publish poetry, short fiction, and essay; to disburse these works with diligence and integrity; and to serve as an educational resource for readers, students, and teachers of creative writing. First titles appeared in 1996, and the press currently has more than 220 titles under contract or in print, many of them prize-winning. Sarabande authors and staff members conduct an estimated 225 readings, workshops, and lectures per year, and they strive to make their programs and services accessible to all. Sarabande publishes ten to twelve books each year, including selections for the Mary McCarthy prize in fiction, the Kathryn A. Morton prize in poetry, and the Linda Bruckheimer Series in Kentucky Literature. In 2016, the McCarthy prize will be judged by Stacy D'Erasmo, and the Morton will be judged by Dean Young. Sarabande authors and titles have won or been short-listed for, among many others, the Pulitzer Prize, National Book Critics Circle Award, the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, the National Jewish Book Award, LA Times Book Prize, Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award, Lambda Literary awards, Story Prize Spotlight award, and several PEN/American honors, including the PEN/Hemingway.
  • Is your group affiliated with a University, portal or other agency?
  • Primary editor/Contact person
    Sarah Gorham
  • Contact title
    President and Editor-in-Chief
  • Publishes
    essays, fiction, poetry
  • Focus
    Sarabande publishes only the best literature, an eclectic mix of new and established writers both experimental and formal.
  • Recent Awards Received
    AWP Small Press Publisher Award, Norma Farber First Book Award, Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, John C. Zacharis First Book Awa
  • Representative authors
    Kyle Minor, Kathleen Ossip, Elena Passarello
  • Submissions policy
    Kathryn A. Morton Prize in poetry, Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction, Linda Bruckheimer Series in Kentucky Literature, Open Essay Period in September. Otherwise by invitation and recommendation. (See website for details)
  • Accepts unsolicited submissions?
  • Simultaneous submissions accepted
  • Reading period
    From 1 / 2 - 1 / 15
  • Reporting time
    12 - 15 weeks
  • Author Payments
    royalties, cash, copies
  • Contests
    See web site for contest guidelines. (See website for details)
  • Number of paid staff
  • Number of unpaid staff
  • Distributors
  • E-distributors
  • Wholesalers
    Baker & Taylor, Ingram
  • CLMP Member?
  • How many writers did you publish in your most recent year (calendar or fiscal)?
  • How many live events did you present in your most recent year (calendar or fiscal)?
  • ISSN Number
  • ISBN Number
    9641151, 932511
  • Number of Books Published per Year
  • Titles in Print
  • Average Print Run
  • Format (%)
    10% Hardcover, 80% Paperback, 10% Chapbook
  • Average Price per Book
  • Average Price per e-Book

We would like to collect information during your site visit to help us better understand site use. This data is anonymized, and will not be used for marketing purposes. Read More on our Privacy Policy page. You can withdraw permission at any time or update your privacy settings here. Please choose below to continue.